top of page

Quick Tips on Smashing Idols

From time to time I have the joy of fielding questions form my staff or students. Many of these blog posts are inspired by those conversations. I thought it fitting to just copy and paste one of them here.

Hey Mr. Weber. It's ___________, I've finally gotten around to asking a question after quite some time.

Question 1: So i asked before, how to find idols in our lives and this question is a add on to it. How can i remove an idol from my life? I know my idols are hindering my school, my social skills and more importantly reading the Bible, but I do have a lot of free time which I guess I could be practicing the things I listed. My idols are the first things that come to mind most days, and the things I do with my free time rather than what I should. My idols consist of the common video games and the even more common YouTube which I guess could be considered addicted to the internet. I can tell these the idols of some of my friends and many of my generation as well. Any advice?

Question 2: Should I focus on my own struggles before going All in for Christ? Or in helping others? I feel like I should. This is because I think of it like a math problem; when you solve the problem then you can help someone else because you know the process to reach the answer.

Man, I love your questions. I am so proud of you for being willing to take a hard look in the mirror, seeing what is there and wanting to make a genuine effort to work through it. So often, many people simply sweep these things under the rug, make excuses for them and just try to move on without doing the tough stuff. This is what real growth looks like, it starts with a willingness, not an action. Thank you for bringing me into it, I hope I can shed some light into this for you.

To your first question, I want to lead you to consider why these things have become idols in the first place. If we look back into scripture, we can come up with the idea that an idol is something that people look at to replace God in some way. They look to them for purpose, meaning to life, value as people. They believe that by having the idol in their life, they will achieve some sort of satisfaction and stability in their life. The ancient form of idolatry revolved around cast idols or other physical objects, and that still goes on today. But in modern times we tend to replace those physical idols with things like money, power, popularity, possessions, looks…. whatever…. In your case it’s the games and internet-based entertainment. They serve as an escape or refuge, offering you some satisfaction, purpose, meaning and value. It also offers a fantasy world where you are the one in control, and your own identity can’t be threatened by the outside world. I can only say that because it’s not an uncommon thing.

So how do you go about defeating an idol? Well it begins at the root. It’s not about just coming up with other things to do and trying really hard to ignore your idol. It is about smashing them completely by looking to another, perfect source for your identity, purpose, meaning, value…in your life. The fact is that anything we place as an idol in our life will let us down eventually and take us apart on the way. There is only one true source of absolute sustenance that we can look to for those things and that is in the person of Christ. If you want to feel valuable, think of the cost Jesus paid to love you. If you want purpose in your life, think of playing a role in the construction of His eternal kingdom. If you want stability in your life, look to the one who was, who is, and who always will be. If you are hungry for security, look to the one who promises to never leave or forsake you. And if you want a life free of shame and guilt, think of the one who knows you down to your most ugly depths, and loves you perfectly in spite of it. It’s when we see the beauty of the Gospel of Christ, that our former idols begin to seem ugly in comparison, and through that process they will be squeezed out of your life bit by bit.

But it is not an overnight thing, it is a battle. We have an enemy that wants to see you give up, get discouraged and disconnect form your community. The key is to dedicate yourself to seeking intimacy with your creator in the ways that He has given you to do so. Read his word to see his mind. Talk to Him to build a connection. Sing to him as thought you are praying to him and be in community so that those around you can reveal more of who He is to you. These are the ways we can play a role in defeating idols, but here is the hard truth of it; it’s going to take some time. And that leads to your second question.

Should you focus on your own struggles before going all in? I want to flip that sentence on its head and tell you that the path to focusing on your troubles is TO go all in for Him. As you hunt for intimacy with your Savior, as you serve Him in spite of your doubts, as you connect with others He has placed in your life, you will find that you are pressed into relationship with Him as well. Don’t believe for a second that you have to have it all together in order to make a difference in the life of those around you or those following you. Even the apostle Paul had his struggles within himself yet penned most of the new testament and fueled the early church with his work. God can and will use the weak to confound the strong and the sinner to reveal the glory of His Son. Your brokenness only gives standing the beauty of our creator.

Take the steps he has placed in front of you. Use the tools he has given you. Seek intimacy with Him in the ways you can, and He will replace your love for idols with a love for Him. In the process, he will use you to impact those around you in the same way.

Thanks again for the question! Keep em coming!

bottom of page